A Tufted Loveseat Gets Sophisticated

This blogger does some amazing furniture transformations! A great reminder to always think twice before sending an old piece of furniture to the junkyard. 🙂

Artisan Upholstery Studio

20130526-075443.jpg
This sweet loveseat was brought to me for a makeover. It isn’t an antique -just a reproduction piece- but it’s still cute as a button and worth saving. It will look terrific with a bit of updated fabric.
20130526-072019.jpgTufting a seat and back is not something I would recommend for a first-timer. You’d probably want to try tufting a headboard or ottoman for a beginner project. These are the steps I went through:

Using the old fabric as my guide, I marked out where the new buttons would go. 20130526-072136.jpg I prepared the seat with a layer of cotton felt padding. 20130526-072235.jpg I made holes in the felt with my fingers, and cut the felt where the pleats will go. 20130526-072546.jpg The foam looked like this before I covered it, with holes die-cut out where the buttons are placed. 20130526-072658.jpg For tufting, I use button twine, a long button needle, and wire-eye buttons.20130526-073158.jpg I…

View original post 75 more words

6 thoughts on “A Tufted Loveseat Gets Sophisticated

What do you think? Please leave a comment below -

