Sewing Therapy for Post Wedding Depression

amy butler.jpg

My younger brother summed it up perfectly on the Sunday following my sister’s wedding….Post Wedding Depression. It’s so wonderful to have an exciting celebration to look forward to and we have looked forward to my sister’s wedding for over 12months. Months of planning, searching for dresses, DIY projects and the big count down that led up to the day are now followed by a void. A feeling of – what now?? It’s strange to feel this way, i guess, when it wasn’t my wedding and i imagine the bride is feeling it too….although, i’m sure honeymooning in Thailand is taking the edge off the blues! 🙂 In an attempt to reduce the blues, i have thrown myself into sewing projects, that i’ve had planned for a while, but haven’t found the time to tackle. And because it is school holidays, i have my three little lovelies to keep me company, which is a bonus. Anywho, i’m surrounding myself with fabric and thread, which always improves my frame of mind.

Amy Butler! What a clever lady. For me, a relatively conservative type who dresses mostly in black and white, i find Amy Butler fabrics both bright and delicious. For some reason i feel safe experimenting with colour when i’m working with her fabric. And really, just scrolling through her fabric on the internet makes me feel happier. And while my regular readers will know i love recycling, secondhand and vintage, i will not apologise for loving the smell of crisp new fabric! The postman must feel very loved when he delivers my fabric, because i just can’t hide my excitement. Here are three of my cushions and a blanket i’ve made this week. Amy Butler Fabric + Pom Poms = Happiness!!! 🙂

amybutlerlovecushion.jpg

amybutlerlark.jpg

amybutlerfabriccushion.jpg

amybutlersoulblossomsblanket.jpg
For fabric online, my two favourite places are kelani fabric obsession and Fabric Traders. Both have a great range and great service.

21 thoughts on “Sewing Therapy for Post Wedding Depression

  1. It rings so true. In fact, I took my dressmaking course, typed up a relative’s diary to be published and re-designed our garden straight after my wedding and looking back, I was certainly trying to fill a void.

    Like

  2. As soon as I saw your post’s title in my inbox, I knew exactly what you were talking about!! I suffered from PWD for an entire YEAR… I just couldn’t believe it was all over and there was no way to go back and do it again!! I think I watched our wedding video 100 times.

    The pillows are lovely, and just remember PWD is a sign that it was a REALLY good day…

    Like

    • haha! but it wasn’t even MY wedding! I’ve already made a blurb book out of the instagram photos. It really was a great day and at least i’m filling my void with constructive activities….not just moping about. 🙂
      Your wedding photos were beautiful…..i imagine the video was great too!

      Like

  3. LOVE!!!! I am obsessed with pompom fringe! Where do you get the Amy Butler fabric from?!! (if its not my secret fabric spot than I shall share that with you, because its an online store only and I know how much you love those!) (oh wait, maybe I should blog about it first… haha!!) I love how bold the colours are and I’m the same, I dress so dark its strange that I love bright homewares!

    Like

    • I know! i’m loving the pom pom fringe. I bought most of this fabric from fabrictraders.com.au, but if you know another online store you MUST share it with me….or blog about it soon.;) I’m planning on making a patchwork quilt out of the left overs. I love the bright colours, but i’d never wear them!! 🙂

      Like

      • oooh. I havent heard of the fabric traders! share for a share! i go kelanifabric.com.au or tessuti for good designer offcuts or rathdown something something for lesser good designer offcuts. (my bestest english) Quilt is a great idea thats what I do with my offcuts too! I just need a bigger house or kids to sew for now… haha

        Like

      • i love kelani too!! I’ll be sure to check out tessuti and rathdown….haven’t heard of either of those! I find sewing very therapeutic….but i understand the need for a bigger house. I need about a dozen extra lounges to sit all my cushions on!

        Like

  4. They are most awesome cushions ever! The pom poms on them are great!
    Yeah I guess today I’m feeling a little of the PWD but I’ve been looking for a new course to do and thinking about up coming birthdays so we can host a cool party. ^_^

    Like

What do you think? Please leave a comment below -

