Gift shopping for Nerdy Men plus recycling old atlases

map of australia.jpg

Happy April Fools Day!! We are celebrating my husband’s birthday a day early this year to take advantage of the public holiday. The kids and I also thought it would be fun to celebrate on April Fools Day. So, what do you buy a nerdy guy for his birthday?
Anyone who has read my blog before will know that my husband LOVES maps! See here. So, an atlas was at the top of my list for his birthday. And you really cannot get better than The Times Comprehensive Atlas of the World. He loves it and I know he will bore me with useless facts about the world for the next 12months at least!

mapwrappingpaperatlas.jpg
I wrapped his atlas in map gift paper and his other gifts in the pages torn from an old atlas. And seriously, he was like a child at Christmas playing with an empty box. He raved about the pages (even when they were torn from the presents) and ignored his brand new atlas, while he examined the old pages. What a nerd! 🙂

recycling old atlases.jpg
I’ve used old atlas pages before to decorate gifts. They make great envelopes and if you’re crafty enough, they can be transformed into gorgeous, original gift bows. And these were really quite simple to make.

gift bows from old atlases.jpg This massive map by Telegram Paper Goods is the perfect gift for your nerdy man. It looks awesome on our office wall and I know he’ll spend hours examining it and planning trips in his head. Happy Birthday Johnathon! Xo

world map telegram paper goods.jpg

10 thoughts on “Gift shopping for Nerdy Men plus recycling old atlases

  1. Laughed my way through this… My husband LOVES maps. I really think the invention of GPS makes him sad.

    Someone told him about an old township map online, and literally the last three nights he has tried to show me where different property lines used to be drawn… I’m like, wow. So not interesting!!

    Cute wrapping!

    Like

    • Haha! Oh dear god, I feel your pain. Maps are so incredibly boring to me and really the popularity of this post speaks volumes! Lowest views since I started this blog LOL! so, thank you for putting a comment on this boring post! 😉

      Like

  2. Great ideas Mandy! Hope Johno has a very happy birthday, playing with his new toy! Thanks to all of you for a lovely time yesterday – just what we needed after the downer of all the kids leaving! Love, Vicki xo

    On Mon, Apr 1, 2013 at 11:17 AM, JunkyardCandy

    Like

    • He really loves his gifts! The kids bought him documentaries on DVD by David Attenborough and Professor Brian Cox, which we ALL enjoyed watching last night.
      We had a lovely time yesterday. What gorgeous weather! Xo

      Like

  3. I laugh at how much we have similar in our houses, last time it was the plates, today its the atlas and map wrapping paper, although I framed that one and hung it. Love the idea of wrapping the atlas with a map though, ultimate!

    Like

  4. I love maps and graphically, inch by inch, give a big bang. My favorite maps are sailing charts because of their limited coloration. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

    Like

What do you think? Please leave a comment below -

