Before and After – The Green Room

 

Source: hgtv.com viaAmanda on Pinterest

My inspiration for the green room make over came from this beautiful picture that i found while looking for a bedroom with a similar headboard to mine. This room caught my interest right away. The headboard is similar to mine and i loved the contrast of different fabrics, patterns and textures. I desperately wanted to find a striped valance like the one in this picture, but after much searching i gave up and settled on a lovely linen one, which fits perfectly. I searched for a few other bits and pieces – side tables, coverlet, lamps, cushion and throws. I’m really happy with the end result.

warwickfabricbuttonedbedhead.jpg
I was able to use most of the bed linen I’d already bought for the room and I’m really pleased this didn’t go waste. And even though I made new pillowcases, I was able to use most of the existing material. I just changed the fabric on the front. This meant I could reuse the piping that was on the pillows too, which gave them a lovely professional finish. I did get some initial heart flutters when I first started cutting my beautiful Warwick fabric, but I got over that quickly.

malmsburywarickfabric.jpg

warwickfabricpipedpillowcase.jpg
I’ve never had a sewing project go so smoothly before. Maybe the quality of the fabric makes a difference? I had doubts about being able to reuse the piping, but not only did it turn out perfectly, the colour is a great match for the new fabric. Here are the before and afters….I’m a little ashamed of the befores! I guess it’s nice to know I’m improving though.

20130322-204440.jpg

20130322-211505.jpg

soft furnishing in warwick fabric.jpg

malmsburypipedpillowcase.jpg

countryfloralgreenbedroom.jpg
And it would seem that Stayz is working beautifully for me. I’ve had many booking enquires and my first official booking!! Deposit in the bank and fully locked in!! Exciting!!!

green themed bedroom before and after.jpg

14 thoughts on “Before and After – The Green Room

  1. Oh. Sweet fancy Moses I love it! You have such an eye for detail and a talent for putting it all together like that. It is gorgeous

    Like

  2. I don’t know how you can look at something beautiful and imagine something more beautiful … and then create it! Just lovely. Well done.

    Like

  3. Hey!! Congrats on your soon to be first “real” visitor! You put an incredible amount of time and thought into the space, and they will love it!

    I know exactly what you mean by looking at old decorating photos and seeing how your taste evolved into something much more ideal. Room looks fresh and bright!!

    Like

    • Thanks Victoria. I’m confident my visitors will love the house as much as I do. It really does take a lot of practice to get things just right. I feel like I’m getting the hang of it now…..but I need a new house to play with!! 😉

      Like

  4. I have to say your room honestly looks even more beautiful than the inspiration picture! Amazing job. I love how your bed has a little more texture, the colors are perfect, and the bird pillows are adorable. Plus, I’m in love with that chair. Also, this is a little random but I was reading through some of your older posts and I love Zentangles too! They’re very relaxing.

    Like

    • Oh wow! That is so nice of you to say that. It means a lot to me especially because you have such great taste and style.
      And yes, zentangles are great! My husband suggested I learn how to meditate but I struggle with doing nothing, so zentangles are the perfect alternative. Very relaxing. 🙂

      Like

What do you think? Please leave a comment below -

