Crafty Foxes and Needle Felting

needle felted face brooch.jpg

About a year ago I joined a craft group called Crafty Foxes with the aim to complete all of my unfinished projects and use some of the supplies that I’ve collected over the years. Anyone who is into craft will understand the joy in searching for new projects and adding bits and bobs to the craft cupboard. Unfortunately, like many other crafters, i fail time after time to complete my projects. For me, it’s because I bore quickly and while I’m 100% pumped and excited about any new project, I do tend to get distracted and the enthusiasm fades.

needle felting fibre.jpg
I’ve never been a member of a craft group before, but I love it! The group is run by a lovely welcoming girl who encourages us to visit fortnightly with lap sized craft projects. The group is easy going, accepting and kind. Everyone is welcome. And boy! there have been some funny conversations around the craft circle! The project I’m working on at the moment is a needle felted girl. Needle felting is basically agitating fibres until they tangle and become felt. The needle is barbed (and sharp!!) which aids the agitating. Here is the girl I’ve been working on. She needs a few more details but she is basically complete. She will be used as a brooch, hair clip or bag decoration. My daughter Eilish has already called dibs!

needle felting a face.jpg

orange haired needle felted face.jpg

8 thoughts on “Crafty Foxes and Needle Felting

  1. That’s a great idea! I am fantastic at the part where I conceive of a project… get excited about the idea… go shopping for the bits and parts… and then somewhere between coming home with the bag and spreading it out on the table, I lose enthusiasm… Then it just sits there in a mess for days!

    Cute pin!!

    Like

  2. I have an alternate explanation for procrastinating on things we start. (I hope it is true, but it seems to work for me). When I am working on a craft, or have an idea, I love to start it, but generally I haven’t thought out my craft well enough. Soooo, soon enough I run into a snag that I don’t know how to fix. (for instance articulated joints), which stops me on that particular thing. Sometimes it is easier to go do another craft, but more often than not, if i sit and think about why I have stopped.. what is the immediate problem that needs solving.. that problem becomes its own craft (which is another way of procrastinating, but maybe its useful?) If you could just solve that problem.. then the whole.. main craft becomes new and exciting. (I still haven’t worked out a really good articulated joint though :O )

    Like

    • Yes there’s something nice about starting on a fresh project where you haven’t encountered any problems. I can think of more than one project where I’ve stopped after getting stuck, so your theory is right. 🙂

      Like

What do you think? Please leave a comment below -

